top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristos Davos

Cybet’s top 10: Ballon d'Or

By cy.Reporter, 2 December, 2021

A few days after the awarding of the Golden Ball to Lionel Messi, cyNews launches the column "cybet's top 10" and the beginning is made with the 10 footballers who have won the award for the best footballer in the world most of the time!

10. In the 10th place with the most conquests is the German Karl Heinz Rummenigge. He twice won the Golden Ball in his career in 1980 and 1981, while in 1979 he was in second place in the institution. In 1980 he was at the top of Europe, as he won the European Football Championship with West Germany.

9. In the two consecutive conquests of the golden ball is also the English former football player Kevin Keegan. He won the institution in 1978 and 1979, when he played in Germany with the Hamburg jersey. In the first season in 33 matches he scored 12 goals, while in the second in 35 appearances he scored 17 times.

8. The legendary Alfredo Di Stefano has both conquests. The Real Madrid legend won the first golden ball in 1957 and the second in 1959. With the Real Madrid shirt in 282 matches he scored 216 goals, while he won the Champions Cup 5 consecutive years from 1956 to 1960, while he became champion. Spain with the Real Madrid jersey 8 times.

7. Ronaldo could not be missing from the 10 players with the most wins, as he in turn won the award twice. The first time in 1997, when he scored 34 goals in 37 appearances for Barcelona, ​​and the second time in 2002, when he won the World Cup with the Brazilian national team, he scored the two winning goals in the final against Germany and he was also the top scorer in the tournament.

6. Frans Beckenbauer won the golden ball twice. The German defender not only stood out for his defensive duties in Bayern Munich and West Germany but scored as few defenders. In 560 appearances at the collective level he scored 79 times and received the golden ball in 1972 and 1976.

5. In 5th place is Marco Van Basten. The Dutchman won the golden ball three times and in 281 appearances with the jerseys of Milan and Ajax scored 219 goals. He won the first golden ball in 1988, followed by the second the following year and the third in 1992.

4. Another Dutchman is on the list as the "Flying Dutchman" is one of the footballers who left an "indelible" mark on world football and influenced both the Dutch school and Barcelona with his philosophy. Johan Cruyff has won the Ballon d'Or three times. The first was in 1971, the second in 1973 and the third in 1974. The following year in 1975 he won third place in the institution.

3. Michel Platini complements the players who have won the golden ball three times. The French conquered the institution for three consecutive years. In 1983, 1984, 1985, celebrating the conquest of the European Championship with the jersey of the National Team of France in 1984. Twice he won the third place in the institution, the first in 1977 and the second in 1980.

2. With a big difference from the previous positions, in the second place with the most conquests is Cristiano Ronaldo. The Portuguese superstar has been in the final trio of the institution 12 times so far! He won the first place five times in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, the second place in 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2018, while in 2019 he was in third place. However, as many of his teammates say, he will not stop playing football if he is not in the first place with the most conquests.

1. First place in which Lionel Messi is. The holder of this year's golden ball will hardly see another footballer surpassing him, as his percentages in the institution, exceed human levels and reach extraterrestrial dimensions. 13 years he was in the top three! 7 times he was named the best football player in the world (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021), 5 times he was in second place (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017), while in 2007 he was named third best soccer player in the world.

Research, writing, editing: Christos Davos (cyNews sports editor)



bottom of page