top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristos Davos

Cybet's top 10: Teams with the most wins in the Europa League

Updated: Jun 24, 2022

By cy.Reporter, 16 May, 2022

The Europa League final between Eintracht Frankfurt and Rangers is approaching and cybetNews reminds you of the teams that have written their names in golden letters most of the time in the trophy of the tournament, from the time it was called the Uefa Cup until today.

10. In tenth place is the team with the most international titles in the history of European competitions. Real Madrid won the trophy twice, even doing the so-called "back to back", as in 1985 they prevailed in a double final of Videoton with a total score of 3-1 and the following year they prevailed again in a double final of Cologne with a total score of 5 -3.

9. Gothenburg starred in the tournament in the 1980s, winning two trophies. The first was in 1982 where it prevailed in Hamburg double finals with a total score of 4-0 and in 1987 it found itself for the second time in the final and with a total score of 2-1 prevailed over Dundee United and celebrated the trophy.

8. The representative of the Dutch football could not be missing from the teams with the most victories in the history of the Europa League, with Feyenoord celebrating in 1974 the conquest of the -then- UEFA Cup, prevailing over Tottenham with a total score of 4-2. It celebrated its second conquest in 2002, defeating Borussia Dortmund 3-2.

7. In seventh place is Tottenham. The "spurs" in 1972 were at the top of the tournament, beating the Wolves in a double final with a total score of 2-1. The second victory came in 1984 with Tottenham prevailing on penalties in a double final of Anderlecht 4-3 and celebrating its second title. The "spurs" reached the final in 1974 and were defeated by Feyenoord.

6. Bruce Gladbach won the tournament twice in 1975 and 1979 against Twente and the Red Star, while they were in the final for two more years in 1973 and 1980, but could not beat Liverpool and Eintracht Frankfurt, thus having remain in the two conquests in its history.

5. The decade of 2010 belonged to Atletico Madrid. The "Rochiblancos" reached three conquests in equal numbers of finals, as a result of which they are in the five teams with the most conquests in the history of the institution. The start was in 2010 with Atletico celebrating a 2-1 victory in extra time over Fulham. Two years later, the Madrilenians prevailed with 3-0 over Athletic Bilbao, while in 2018 they celebrated the third trophy, prevailing 3-0 over Marseille.

4. Juventus could hardly be missing from the list, as it is one of the few teams that has participated in dozens of finals in European competitions. The Italian team reached its first conquest in 1977, beating Athletic Bilbao in double finals with a 3-1 overall score. The second conquest took place in 1990 with the "Big Lady" celebrating the victory over Fiorentina in a double match with a total score of 3-1. In 1993, he reached his third victory with a total score of 6-1 against Borussia Dortmund. However, he found himself in the final next year where he was defeated by Parma with a total score of 2-1.

3. In third place is Liverpool. The "Reds" won their first trophy in 1973 prevailing in a total score of 3-2 of Gladbach. The second trophy was won in 1976, with Liverpool beating Club Brugge 4-3 on aggregate in two games. The third conquest took place in 2001, with Liverpool prevailing 5-4 in the overtime of Alaves and celebrating another trophy. However, the "Reds" reached the final in 2016 where they lost to Sevilla 3-1.

2. In second place is Inter. The Italian team won its first trophy in 1991, beating Roma 2-1 overall. It celebrated its second conquest in 1994 against Salzburg with a total score of 2-0, while in 1998 it prevailed against another Italian team prevailing 3-0 over Lazio and celebrating its third title in the tournament. However, in 1997 he lost on penalties to Schalke in a double final, while he was defeated in 2020 by Sevilla.

1. In the first place is Sevilla with six titles! In fact, the Sevillans have an equal number of victories and finals, while, before 2006, the Andalusian team had not even reached the final of the tournament! It all started in 2006 with Sevilla beating Middlesbrough 4-0 to celebrate their first win. This was followed by the victories in 2007 against Espanyol, in 2014 against Benfica on penalties, in 2015 against Dnipro, in 2016 against Liverpool and in 2020 against Inter with 3-2.



bottom of page