top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristos Davos

Sports Stories: Wimbledon

One of the oldest and greatest tournaments in the history of tennis, it is held on these days every year in Great Britain. The Wimbledon tournament is rightly regarded as one of the greatest tennis tournaments, as its history dates back to the 19th century, with cybetNews going back to the early years of the tournament, covering a journey of 135 years to date!

The creation of the oldest tennis tournament in the world took place in the distant 1877! The Founders of the event were the members of the Pan-Anglican Tennis Association who essentially created the first tournament in the history of the sport! The matches took place at a venue off Warple Street, Wimbledon and the tournament ran for 10 days from July 9th to the 19th. 22 male athletes took part and the winner was Spencer Gore who prevailed 3-0 in sets against William Marall. in a match where it lasted less than 60 minutes and - as it is said - was watched by hundreds of people who went up to the nearest pitch to watch the match as best as possible!

In the following years - and in particular in 1884 - female athletes also competed for the first time, men's and women's doubles were added and in 1913 the mixed. In 1905 the Wimbledon tournament became an international tournament and from 1922 until today the facilities are located in the same place where over the years they have grown and improved.

With the development of the sport, the tournament also developed and now 128 athletes and 128 athletes compete every year. The main stadium holds around 15,000 spectators, while there are a total of 19 tennis courts. The surface is that of grass and the champion of the institution is the Swiss tennis legend Roger Federer with eight victories and for the women Martina Navratilova with nine victories. Among the tournament's paradoxes is that since the distant 1936 and the tournament's conquest by Fred Perry, the next Briton to celebrate winning the trophy was Andy Murray in 2013.

In terms of prize money won by the winners since 1968 and the first entry of professions, it has reached over £25 million! The winner of the men's singles receives the silver cup which first appeared in 1887 and is inscribed with the words: 'All England Lawn Tennis Club Single Handed Championship of the World', while the women's equivalent is the silver Venus Rosewater Dish , first introduced in 1886.

However, there are many traditions the British love to follow. Thus, the organization names the men's tournament as Gentlemen and the women's tournament as Ladies. In addition, one more tradition is clothing, as one can easily notice, both male and female athletes wear white clothes.

more men's achievements:

Roger Federer (Switzerland) 8 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2017

William Renshaw (UK) 7 1881, 1882, 1883, 1884, 1885, 1886, 1889

Pete Sampras (USA) 7 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000

Lawrence Doherty (UK) 5 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906

Bjorn Borg (Sweden) 5 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980

more women's conquests:

Martina Navratilova (USA) 9 1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1990

Ellen Wills (USA) 8 1927, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1932, 1933, 1935, 1938

Dorothea Douglas (UK) 7 1903, 1904, 1906, 1910, 1911, 1913, 1914

Steffi Graf (Germany) 7 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996

Serena Williams (USA) 7 2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page